#SwampCreatures: Union Officials and Left-Leaning Groups Among Top Lobbyists 2017


When it comes to organizations influencing Congress, the list is long–and it leans mostly Left.

According to a list compiled by The Hill, there are a lot of individuals representing groups on both the left and the right of the political spectrum who lobby Congress regularly.

However, union officials and other left-leaning groups seem to represent a majority of the “Top Lobbyists 2017.”

Here is the list, with union officials in bold:

  1. Anna Aurilio, Environment America
  2. Matt Bennett, Third Way
  3. Ken Cook, Environmental Working Group
  4. Chris Cox, National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action
  5. Steve Ellis, Taxpayers for Common Sense
  6. Karen Hobert Flynn and Aaron Scherb, Common Cause
  7. Lily Eskelsen García,National Education Association
  8. Leo Gerard, United Steelworkers
  9. Bradley Gordon, American Israel Public Affairs Committee
  10. Vanita Gupta, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
  11. Mary Kay Henry, Service Employees International Union
  12. Craig Holman, Public Citizen
  13. Frederick Isasi and Shannon Attanasio, Families USA
  14. Fred Krupp, Environmental Defense Fund
  15. Nancy LeaMond, AARP
  16. Elisa Massimino, Human Rights First
  17. Meredith McGehee, Issue One
  18. Bill McKibben and May Boeve, 350.org
  19. Ed Mierzwinski, U.S. Public Interest Research Group
  20. Eric Mitchell, Bread for the World
  21. Janet Murguia, UnidosUS (formerly the National Council of La Raza)
  22. Matthew Myers, Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids
  23. Michael Needham, Heritage Action for America
  24. Grover Norquist, Americans for Tax Reform
  25. Tim Phillips, Americans for Prosperity
  26. Melinda Pierce, Sierra Club
  27. Paul Rieckhoff, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America
  28. Andrew Roth, Club for Growth
  29. Joshua Saks, National Wildlife Federation
  30. Lee Saunders, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees
  31. Tom Schatz, Citizens Against Government Waste
  32. Faiz Shakir, American Civil Liberties Union
  33. Christopher Shelton, Communications Workers of America
  34. Tiernan Sittenfeld, League of Conservation Voters
  35. Richard Trumka and Bill Samuel, AFL-CIO
  36. Ana Unruh Cohen and Scott Slesinger, Natural Resources Defense Council
  37. Fred Wertheimer, Democracy 21
  38. Dennis Williams, United Auto Workers
  39. Dylan Williams, J Street


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here